Wassermühle Liebenau
The mill has been located on the “Große Aue” since 1298. At that time, the mill served solely as a grain mill for grinding grain. In 1859, a sawmill was added to the grain mill; the Aue now powered a total of four millwheels. In 1913, a comprehensive renovation took place, during which the water wheels were replaced by a turbine. Although milling operations ceased in the 1970s, the turbine continues to run today and generates electricity. The Energy Discovery Trail passes by the mill. It is a tourist bike trail that includes sites related to energy in the broadest sense. A fish ladder adjoins the watermill. As part of the project, a fish ladder was constructed on the Große Aue to improve the ecological connectivity of the waterway.
Good to know
Openings
- Only exterior viewing possible.
Payment methods
- free of charge
Author
Mittelweser-Touristik GmbH
Lange Straße 1831582 Nienburg/WeserOrganization
Mittelweser-Touristik GmbH
License (master data)
Mittelweser-Touristik GmbH








