Turmhügelburg Hagen-Grinden

PDF

Archaeological site
Medieval bridge fort with raised castle area and two moats (12th century).
Directly on the Weser Canal, you come to a place where the oldest castle in Langwedel once stood on a branch of the Aller river as a tower mound castle (motte). Its position on the water suggests a strategic and commercial connection. Today, only earth walls can be seen as remnants of this simple lowland castle. These are reminiscent of the two semi-circular moats on the south side, which surrounded a rectangular, raised interior measuring approx. 25 x 15 meters. This is where the castle stood, which was built in 1159 by Gerung von der Hagen from the family of the bailiffs of the Bremen Abbey.

When canal construction work was carried out in 1938, the remains of the castle were an obstacle. During this work, the remains of a 6m wide wooden bridge were found, as well as ship moorings from a former harbor. The remains of the ramparts were preserved thanks to a preservation order. Brochure: "About the von der Hagen family and their castle in Langwedel-Hagen" by Wolfgang Ernst.

Good to know

Payment methods

free of charge

Nearby

Getting there

Turmhügelburg Hagen-Grinden
Holtdamm
27299 Langwedel

License (master data)

License: no copyright required (Public domain) (no copyright)
Mittelweser-Touristik GmbH