On July 1, 1905, the mill was struck by lightning, which reduced the shingled wooden structure and the surrounding gallery to ashes. A national emblem can be seen in the keystone of the archway: "G.R.III, 1821". The initials refer to "Georg Rex III", the King of Hanover at the time. Today, only the mighty octagonal stone base bears witness to the once beautiful building.
Good to know
Payment methods
free of charge
Author
Mittelweser-Touristik GmbH
Lange Straße 18
31582 Nienburg/Weser
Organization
Mittelweser-Touristik GmbH
License (master data)
Mittelweser-Touristik GmbH
Nearby






